

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Announces National Sports Awards 2024

President of India to Give Away Awards on 17th January 2025

Posted On: 02 JAN 2025 2:26PM by PIB Delhi

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2024 today. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 17th January, 2025 (Friday) at 1100 hours.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches, university and entity:

i. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2024

S. No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Shri Gukesh D	Chess
2.	Shri Harmanpreet Singh	Hockey
3.	Shri Praveen Kumar	Para-Athletics
4.	Ms. Manu Bhaker	Shooting

ii. Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2024

S. No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Ms. Jyothi Yarraji	Athletics

2.	Ms. Annu Rani	Athletics
3.	Ms. Nitu	Boxing
4.	Ms. Saweety	Boxing
5.	Ms. Vantika Agrawal	Chess
6.	Ms. Salima Tete	Hockey
7.	Shri Abhishek	Hockey
8.	Shri Sanjay	Hockey
9.	Shri Jarmanpreet Singh	Hockey
10.	Shri Sukhjeet Singh	Hockey
11.	Shri Rakesh Kumar	Para-Archery
12.	Ms. Preeti Pal	Para-Athletics
13.	Ms. Jeevanji Deepthi	Para-Athletics
14.	Shri Ajeet Singh	Para-Athletics
15.	Shri Sachin Sarjerao Khilari	Para-Athletics
16.	Shri Dharambir	Para-Athletics
17.	Shri Pranav Soorma	Para-Athletics
18.	Shri H Hokato Sema	Para-Athletics
19.	Ms. Simran	Para-Athletics
20.	Shri Navdeep	Para-Athletics
21.	Shri Nitesh Kumar	Para-Badminton
22.	Ms. Thulasimathi Murugesan	Para-Badminton

23.	Ms. Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan	Para-Badminton
24.	Ms. Manisha Ramadass	Para-Badminton
25.	Shri Kapil Parmar	Para-Judo
26.	Ms. Mona Agarwal	Para-Shooting
27.	Ms. Rubina Francis	Para-Shooting
28.	Shri Swapnil Suresh Kusale	Shooting
29.	Shri Sarabjot Singh	Shooting
30.	Shri Abhay Singh	Squash
31.	Shri Sajan Prakash	Swimming
32.	Shri Aman	Wrestling

iii. Arjuna Awards (Lifetime) for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2024

S. No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Shri Sucha Singh	Athletics
2.	Shri Murlikant Rajaram Petkar	Para-Swimming

iv. Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games 2024 A. Regular Category:

S. No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	Shri Subhash Rana	Para-Shooting
2.	Ms. Deepali Deshpande	Shooting
3.	Shri Sandeep Sangwan	Hockey

B. Lifetime Category:

S. No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	Shri S Muralidharan	Badminton
2.	Shri Armando Agnelo Colaco	Football

v. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

S. No.	Name of the Entity
1.	Physical Education Foundation of India

(vi) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2024:

S. No.	Name of University	
1	Chandigarh University	Overall winner University
2	Lovely Professional University, (PB)	1 st runner up University
3	Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar	2 nd runner up University

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

'Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award' is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over the period of the previous four years.

'Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games' is given for good performance over a period of the previous four years and for showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

Arjuna Award (Lifetime) is given to honour and motivate those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career.

'Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games' is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and for enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.

The overall top performing university in Khelo India University Games is given the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

The applications were invited online and sportspersons/coaches/entities were permitted to self-apply through a dedicated Online Portal. A large number of applications were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) V. Ramasubramanian, Supreme Court of India and consisting members from eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administrators.

Himanshu Pathak

(Release ID: 2089557) Visitor Counter: 820